Liquor Licenses & Permits

Liquor Sales/Service
License year: July 1 through June 30
[See Chapter 3, Liberty City Code for more information]
  • Licenses renewed annually
  • May not be transferred to another location or owner
  • Background checks run by police to determine business’ eligibility for license
  • City issues letter for the State to new businesses applying for liquor licenses
  • New business applicant required to produce state liquor license before City license will be issued
Liquor License Fees Based On Type of License
  • 3.2% beer in the original package $20
  • 3.2% beer, consumption on the premises $37.50
  • 7 day license, malt liquor only $75
  • 5.0% beer/light wine, in the original package $20
  • 5.0% beer/light wine, by the drink $52.50
  • Package liquor $75
  • Liquor by the drink $450
  • Sunday sales, original package $300
  • Sunday sales, liquor by the drink $300
  • Manufacturing of non-intoxicating beer $375
  • Manufacturing or distilling of intoxicating liquor $375
Liquor Dispensing Permits
  • Hours for processing - weekdays, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • All applicants must provide a driving record for the States Driver's license that is presented and Missouri Driving Record must be provided for all Missouri Driver Licenses.
  • Eligibility requirements: no felony conviction or misdemeanor conviction for drug or alcohol-related charges within the last 2 years; must be at least 18 years old to obtain a restricted permit (until age 21)
  • Fee for processing application is $26
  • Estimated cost of driving record (obtained at the license bureau) is $7.88
  • Temporary 60-day permit is issued in order to request and obtain criminal background report from the State. When report is received, if applicant still eligible, full-term card is mailed, which is good for 3 years from date of application
  • Valid permit is good for any licensed establishment in the City of Liberty
  • Cost for duplicate liquor dispensing permit is $5